Indiana Milk Quality Professionals, Inc.
IndianaMilk Quality Professionals, Inc.

S. Atkisson Award Information

2016 Award Winner

Phil Nusbaum

The 2016 Steve Atkisson Indiana Dairy Service Award presented by the Indiana Milk Quality Professionals, Inc. was awarded to Phil Nusbaum.  This award is given annually to an individual who has made a significant positive impact on Indiana’s dairy industry.


Mr. Nusbaum was born in 1942 in Goshen and he has lived his entire life in the area. He graduated from Wakarusa High School in 1960, and then was a graduate of the South Bend College of Commerce. He married Linda S. Pippenger in 1964 and had two children, two grandchildren and two step-grandchildren.


Mr. Nusbaum was a veteran of the United States Army, serving in Korea during the Vietnam War. After returning from Korea he purchased a milk route where he hauled milk. Later he began his 40 years as a Field Representative for AMPI. Phil had also worked at Burger Dairy and Dairy Farmers of America (DFA) in the Goshen area. After retirement, in 2005, Phil continued to work part time for DFA with organic dairy farms.  Phil was influential in creating the Indiana Milk Quality Professionals, Inc. He served as a board member for the first six years of the organization, followed by continued support as a member of the Advisory Committee for IMQP.


Unfortunately, Phil Nusbaum passes away on April 9th before the Indiana Milk Quality Conference Award Banquet on April 12th.  Due to previous health issues, Phil was informed that he was to receive this award at a special lunch meeting with fellow IMQP members. This recognition was awarded to Phil for his support and work for the improvement of the quality of milk produced in Indiana.


Atkisson Award Winners

2009 - Steve Atkisson


2010 - Simon Kenyon


2011 - Jim Harton


2012 - Dr. Mike Schutz


2013 - Gary Kuhlmann


2014 - Myrna Metzer

2015 - John Bollinger
2016 - Phil Nusbaum



Contact Us Today!

Indiana Milk Quality Professionals, Inc.

@ Robin Fuhrman, Secretary/Treasurer

P.O. Box 10419

Fort Wayne, IN 46852

Phone: 260-483-6436


PrintPrint | Sitemap
© Indiana Milk Quality Professionals, Inc.